Medizinische Informatik, Statistik und Dokumentation

The institute provides scientific services to Medical University of Graz staff as well as external project partners.

Statistical consulting

Every Tuesday from 2 to 4 PM, we offer consultations on the planning and evaluation of clinical trials and on other issues related to statistics that arise during research projects. Timely scheduling of an appointment is required. For an effective consultation, we ask that you fill out the registration form and either return it to us before your appointment or bring it with you.

Requests for statistical assistance for diploma theses are handled via the course "Methods seminar in biostatistics for diploma students". In exceptional cases (time without lectures) an appointment at the Statistical consulting can take place in the presence of the supervisor.

Contact

Statistical Consulting team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Randomization for clinical trials

For the randomization of clinical trials, we have developed the Randomizer web application. More information on this service including a demo is available at https://www.randomizer.at/. Use of this randomization service is free of charge for academic studies at the Medical University of Graz.

Contact

Randomization for Clinical Trials team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Data management for clinical trials

We support clinical trials and registers as well as epidemiological studies in different medical disciplines. For data management, we offer the following solutions:

  • We operate clincase, an electronic data capture (EDC) system for multicenter clinical trials that is FDA 21 CFR Part 11 compliant, and provide support with eCRF design, plausibility and consistency checks, reports, data export, trial validation and user administration.
  • For expanded scientific and medical documentation, we provide the RDA system, which can be applied to data collection in epidemiological studies at the Medical University of Graz. Access to RDA is only available within University Hospital Graz. Our services include support with creation of database forms and data export.

Contact

Data Management team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Analyses from clinical information systems

Our services include extraction, transformation and aggregation of data from clinical information systems in reference to scientific problems. We create reports and analyses that are provided to scientists on the *Med-Report-Portal that we have developed (accessible only within the KAGes network).

Contact

Data Management team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Pseudonym management

iPSN—an acronym for Interactive PSeudonymizatioN—is a tool we have developed for generating and administering pseudonyms in the context of medical research projects. iPSN creates pseudonyms for original values (either personal data such as name, date of birth and sex or generic string data, for example IDs from patient management systems) and saves these pseudonyms in a database.

Though typical users work in medical data management, PIs may also directly apply iPSN, for example in multicenter registers. Contact our Data Management team if you would like to use iPSN in your project.

Contact

Data Management team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Multimedia database

We provide support with the setup and application of the multimedia database iMAGIC for scientific purposes. Images, videos, lectures and teaching handouts can be saved in this database. It is also possible to take (sufficiently anonymized) images that are scientifically relevant from the patient database.

Doctors and academic staff of University Hospital Graz may access this database.

Contact

Multimedia Database team 
T: +43 316 385 84518

Training system for brain death diagnostics

BRAINDEXweb is a teaching and learning system for brain death diagnostics according to the Austrian Empfehlungen zur Durchführung der Hirntoddiagnostik bei einer geplanten Organentnahme (Recommendations for Conducting Brain Death Diagnostics for Planned Organ Removal; OSR Österreich; 2013). We developed this application in an interdisciplinary project with the Division of Special Anaesthesiology, Pain and Intensive Care Medicine der Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. The project was conducted with the kind support of Novartis Pharma GmbH.

BRAINDEXweb is available at https://braindex.medunigraz.at/. Access is personalized, and user authentication requires a user name and password. Registration is required in order to use the training system. 

Contact

Training System for Brain Death Diagnostics team 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Medizinische Informatik, Statistik und Dokumentation

Das Institut bietet zahlreiche wissenschaftlich orientierte Services an, die den Mitarbeiter*innen der Medizinischen Universität Graz sowie externen Projektpartner*innen zur Verfügung stehen.

Statistische Ambulanz

Wir bieten jeweils am Dienstag, von 14:00 bis 16:00 Uhr, eine Beratung für die Planung und Auswertung klinischer Studien und für weitere statistische Fragestellungen im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten an. Eine rechtzeitige Terminvereinbarung ist erforderlich. Um effektiv beraten zu können, bitten wir Sie, das Anmeldeformular auszufüllen und vorab an uns zu übermitteln bzw. zum Beratungsgespräch mitzubringen.

Kontakt

Team Statistische Ambulanz 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Randomisierung für klinische Studien

Zur Randomisierung bei klinischen Studien wurde von uns eine Web-Anwendung – Randomizer – entwickelt. Nähere Informationen zu diesem Service inklusive einer Demo sind unter https://www.randomizer.at/ verfügbar. Für akademische Studien der Medizinischen Universität Graz ist die Verwendung des Randomisierungsdienstes kostenlos.

Kontakt

Team Randomisierung für klinische Studien 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Datenmanagement für klinische Studien

Wir betreuen klinische Studien und Register sowie epidemiologische Studien aus verschiedenen medizinischen Fachdisziplinen. Für das Datenmanagement bieten wir dabei folgende Lösungen an:

  • Wir betreiben clincase, ein 21 CFR 11-konformes Electronic Data Capture (EDC) System für multizentrische klinische Studien, und bieten Unterstützung bei eCRF Design, Plausibilitäts- und Konsistenzchecks, Reports, Datenexport, Studien-Validierung und Benutzerverwaltung.
  • Für eine erweiterte wissenschaftliche medizinische Dokumentation stellen wir das System RDA zur Verfügung, das zur Datenerfassung insbesondere bei epidemiologischen Studien an der Medizinischen Universität Graz herangezogen werden kann. Der Zugang zu RDA ist nur innerhalb des LKH-Universitätsklinikums Graz möglich. Unser Service umfasst die Unterstützung bezüglich Formulargestaltung und Datenexport.

Kontakt

Team Datenmanagement 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Auswertungen aus klinischen Informationssystemen

Unser Service umfasst Extraktion, Transformation und Aggregation von Daten aus klinischen Informationssystemen in Bezug auf wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen. Wir erstellen Berichte und Auswertungen, welche den Wissenschafter*innen über das von uns entwickelte *Med-Report-Portal zur Verfügung gestellt werden (Zugang nur im Netzwerk der Steiermärkischen KAGes möglich).

Kontakt

Team Datenmanagement 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Pseudonym-Management

iPSN – das Akronym steht für Interactive PSeudonymizatioN – ist ein von uns entwickeltes Werkzeug zur Generierung und Verwaltung von Pseudonymen im Kontext medizinischer Forschungsprojekte. iPSN erzeugt Pseudonyme für Originalwerte (entweder Personendaten, wie etwa Name, Geburtsdatum und Geschlecht, oder aber generische String-Daten, wie beispielsweise IDs aus patient*innenführenden Systemen) und speichert diese Pseudonyme in einer Datenbank.

Die typischen Anwender*innen von iPSN kommen aus dem medizinischen Datenmanagement, grundsätzlich ist jedoch auch die Anwendung direkt durch PIs, beispielsweise in multizentrischen Registern, möglich. Für eine Anwendung von iPSN in Ihrem Projekt kontaktieren Sie unser Datenmanagement-Team.

Kontakt

Team Datenmanagement 
T: +43 316 385 13201

Multimediadatenbank

Wir bieten Unterstützung bei der Einrichtung und Anwendung der Multimediadatenbank iMAGIC für wissenschaftliche Zwecke. In dieser Datenbank können Bilder, Videos, Vorträge und Lehrunterlagen abgelegt werden. Zusätzlich gibt es die Möglichkeit, wissenschaftlich relevante Bilder (entsprechend anonymisiert) aus der Patient*innendatenbank zu übernehmen.

Der Zugang zu dieser Datenbank ist für Ärzt*innen und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen des LKH-Universitätsklinikums Graz möglich.

Kontakt

Team Multimediadatenbank 
T: +43 316 385 84518

Schulungssystem für die Hirntoddiagnostik

BRAINDEXweb ist ein Lehr- und Lernsystem zur Hirntoddiagnostik nach den österreichischen Empfehlungen zur Durchführung der Hirntoddiagnostik bei einer geplanten Organentnahme (OSR Österreich; 2013). Diese Anwendung wurde von uns im Rahmen eines interdisziplinären Projekts mit der Klinischen Abteilung für Spezielle Anästhesiologie, Schmerz- und Intensivmedizin der Universitätsklinik für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin entwickelt. Das Projekt wurde mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Novartis Pharma GmbH durchgeführt.

BRAINDEXweb ist unter https://braindex.medunigraz.at/ verfügbar. Der Zugang ist personalisiert, die Authentifizierung der Anwender*innen erfolgt über Benutzername und Kennwort. Eine Registrierung ist für die Verwendung des Schulungssystems erforderlich.

Kontakt

Team Schulungssystem für die Hirntoddiagnostik 
T: +43 316 385 13201